Richard Willis's Blog

First for local news and first for comment

Tanzania Association Launched in Reading

Last night I was privileged to attend the launch of the Tanzanian Association in Reading. I was asked to attend to represent Alok Sharma who had another engagement. I didn’t know that Reading had a Tanzanian community but was soon put right. The hall was packed with people and the senior guest was the High Commissioner, as well as a number of Tanzanian MPs who are here as election observers.

The community was very welcoming and I was invited to speak to them about the Conservative party and its Manifesto for the General Election. I then took questions from the floor, which mainly focussed around immigration and support for the Commonwealth. There were some concerns about our plan for a cap on non-EU immigration but I was able to discuss those in a friendly way, and the audience applauded our plans to protect international development aid and put a greater focus on the Commonwealth. I also praised President Kikwete’s clean up of Tanzanian politics and suggested that some of our politicians could learn from him. Finally I appealed for people to get involved in politics locally. There are no elected black Councillors on Reading Borough Council and my party would very much welcome new members from the Tanzanian community.

A lot of the meeting was conducted in Swahili and as a “Swahili challenged” Englishman, one or two people translated for me. There were many speeches both before and after the meal, with many of the speakers stressing the importance of the diaspora to Tanzania. One speaker talked about his personal project of sending used computers to Africa. The main focus of the speeches was the launch of the Tanzania Association, which is a personal project of the President to harness the support of the Tanzanian community in the UK. The High Commissioner (who is soon to move to the US to represent her country) spoke in a mix of English and Swahili and I was delighted to be asked if I would become a “friend” of the Association.

I learned a lot last night and was touched by the warmth of the welcome I received. Despite being invited, neither Labour nor the Lib Dems sent a representative to the meeting and it was commented on by several of the senior members around me. For many years Labour has taken the minority ethnic communities for granted and they have noticed. Many are now rethinking their vote and are attractive by the Conservative message of support for small business and families, and lower taxes.

May 4, 2010 - Posted by | Local

6 Comments »

  1. Good for you – hope you are able to develop friendship with them.
    I worked in East Africa in the 1950’s and often travelled from Kenya and Uganda into Tangankiya [ as it then was ]
    Back in London I was a member of the Conservative Commonwealth Council that did much to create links and a better understanding with emerging independent Africa.

    Comment by Mark Andrew | May 4, 2010 | Reply

  2. I wish I had known, I spent 3 months building a school in Tanzania in 1999. My Swahili was never very good but I would like to have gone to this.

    Comment by Adrian Windisch | May 4, 2010 | Reply

  3. Very good commentary about our communities.Adrian you can contact me on the e-mail above so that we arrange to invite you on the forthcoming Tanzania association manchester’s chapter annual meeting

    Comment by victor mashamba | May 6, 2010 | Reply

  4. Thank you very much Richard for attending the launch of the Tanzanian Association in Reading. It was a pleasure having you there. We shall be inviting you again soon in some of our meetings.

    Many Thanks.

    A.Dello
    Secretary General(Tanzanian Association Reading)

    Comment by Amri Dello | May 10, 2010 | Reply

    • Amri – it was an honour and a pleasure. I look forward to seeing you again soon!

      Comment by Richard Willis | May 10, 2010 | Reply

  5. Mr Richard, thank you very much for your time and for your commitment of being friends with tanzanian associations. I t is our hope that you had our concerns and you will act on it very carefully for the benefits of this country.
    Hope to see you again,

    Comment by Mohamed | May 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

