Richard Willis's Blog

First for local news and first for comment

Labour Shadow Cabinet Results

The Labour Shadow Cabinet election results have been announced tonight.

We were not supposed to know the actual votes cast but helpfully MP Barry Gardiner has blown that plan apart by tweeting the numbers of votes cast for each candidate:

Yvette Cooper (232)

John Healy (192)

Ed Balls (179)

Angela Eagle (165)

Andy Burnham (165)

Alan Johnson (163)

Douglas Alexander (160)

Jim Murphy (160)

Tessa Jowell (152)

Caroline Flint (139)

John Denham (129)

Hilary Benn (128)

Sadiq Khan (128)

Mary Creah (119)

Ann McKechin (117)

Maria Eagle (107)

Meg Hillier (106)

Ivan Lewis (104)

Liam Byrne (100)

Those who missed out include Peter Hain, Tory defector Shaun Woodward, Ben Bradshaw, Stephen Timms and leadership contestant Diane Abbott. Speculation tonight is that Yvette Cooper, who topped the poll, will beat husband Ed Balls to the Chancellorship he has long coveted.


October 7, 2010 - Posted by | National

1 Comment »

  1. The results are, and were always going to be, officially and publicly announced, why do you think this is a leak?

    Comment by Jonny | October 8, 2010 | Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: