Richard Willis's Blog

First for local news and first for comment

Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat

On Saturday night I went to the Hexagon in Reading to see Tim Rice and Andrew Lloyd-Webber’s superb musical “Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat” as produced by Bill Kenwright. It is great that Reading continues to attract professional shows of this quality and I was very lucky to get two good tickets.

When the TV show “Any Dream Will Do” was on, I was a big fan and voted for Keith Jack to win. Since Keith has now taken over the Joseph mantle from the eventual winner Lee Mead, I was keen to see him perform. I was not disappointed.

The show has all the well known songs and some fantastic costumes. The show is fantastic fun, combining the story of Joseph with a wide variety of musical styles and some very humorous moments. Keith was great as Joseph and was supported by an excellent cast.

Me meeting Keith

At the end of the show there were reprises of the best known songs and the guys playing Joseph’s eleven brothers came down from the stage and danced and sang amongst the audience, much to the delight of one young lad in the row in front of me. After the show it was great to meet Keith Jack and thank him for having signed my programme in the interval!

The Hexagon staff were all excellent and it was good to catch up with some that I knew when I used to perform on the Hexagon Stage with local theatre groups. Sadly it was the last night for “Joseph” in Reading, otherwise I would have been tempted to go back again.

February 9, 2011 - Posted by | General Musings

3 Comments »

  1. Glad we have something in common other than being councillors! I regularly sing lines from the show to my long suffering, but aptly named husband Joe.

    Rachel

    Comment by Rachel Eden | February 12, 2011 | Reply

  2. Hi Richard. My son’s dance & drama group were part of the choir. Had too much rehearsals at home. Couldn’t handle going to the Hexagon to hear it again! Saw the show in London many moons ago. Awesome.

    Comment by Jazz | February 13, 2011 | Reply

  3. i love keith jack love to meet him i saw him in llandudno but dident have the time to meet him my dream is to meet him if your friends with him i would be delighted if you would tell him too meet me at my school look at my facebook page thanks bye

    Comment by manon | March 5, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

