Richard Willis's Blog

First for local news and first for comment

New YouGov Poll – UKIP Rise to 12% as Labour’s Lead is Cut

There is a new YouGov poll in today’s Sun newspaper showing an increase in UKIP’s support seemingly at Labour’s expense following the Eastleigh by-election:

                   Conservative               31% (down 1%)

                   Labour                         40% (down 3%)

                                                     Lib Dem                       12% (no change)

                                                     UKIP                             12% (up 3%)

YouGov’s Peter Kellner has conducted an analysis of UKIP supporters who he finds to be older and poorer than Conservative supporters but also less right wing! Overwhelmingly UKIP supporters would prefer a Conservative Government led by David Cameron than a Labour one led by Ed Miliband.

Changes shown are compared to the last YouGov poll I reported on 17 February.

March 5, 2013 - Posted by | Polls |

2 Comments »

  1. “Overwhelmingly UKIP supporters would prefer a Conservative Government led by David Cameron than a Labour one led by Ed Miliband.”

    Unfortunately for them (and you) they are almost certain to get exactly what they don’t want. And the wonderful irony is that is it they who will bring it all about.

    Comment by Phil the Greek | March 5, 2013 | Reply

  2. Depends how you define “Right Wing” . if you use the Classical meaning then I could be called a Right Winger taking account of my views of Law and Order =pro Capital and Corporal Punishment and tough prison regimes, Defence,= strong armed forces,, Education= pro Academically selective Grammar School Education,, Family Values, opposed to Same-sex “Marriage” . However if you take my views on Economic Matters I am Keynesian, Interventionist, Centralist, Statist I am most certainly NOT a Libertarian!. I favour Employment Protection, responsible Collective Bargaining, support the NHS “free at point of need to all”, the Welfare State, a progressive Income Tax system, rather than Indirect Taxes such as VAT and Excise Duties. On the Economic aspect I would be considered to be on the Left.

    The UKIP supporters I have met loathe David Cameron and all he stands for as I do myself and would NOT want him back for another 5 years but I suppose it depends how you frame your question and who you ask..

    As for myself, I was delighted to see Cameron humiliated by being pushed into Third Place in Eastleigh and hope this is the start of something big, Roll on the next by-election in a Tory constituency. However I doubt that I will be voting here in the next General Election in 2015 for if things go as I plan and hope I may well be in another country and UK Politics will then be purely academic to me in that case.

    Comment by Steve Foley | March 5, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

